The AFC West has had its share of Hall of Fame players and greats throughout each of the 4 remaining teams, sorry Seattle. The Broncos, Raiders, Chiefs & Chargers have all taken turns running the division. Starting the division off strong, the Chiefs went to Super Bowl I and then won Super Bowl IV in the 60’s. Then the Raiders took over in the 70’s followed by the Chargers in the 80’s and the Chiefs and Broncos in the 90’s, with the Broncos winning 2 Super Bowls. As for present day, the Chiefs have won the division 5 years in a row. Now, let’s take a look at what the all-time AFC West team would look like.

AFC West All-Time Offense

  • QB – John Elway – Broncos
  • RB – LaDainian Tomlinson – Chargers
  • RB – Marcus Allen – Raiders & Chiefs
  • FB – Tony Richardson – Chiefs
  • WR – Otis Taylor – Chiefs
  • WR – Lance Alworth – Chargers
  • WR – Tim Brown – Raiders
  • TE – Tony Gonzalez – Chiefs
  • TE – Shannon Sharpe – Broncos
  • OT – Willie Roaf – Chiefs
  • OG – Gene Upshaw – Raiders
  • OC – Jim Otto – Raiders
  • OG – Will Shields – Chiefs
  • OT – Gary Zimmerman – Broncos

Honorable Mentions: Patrick Mahomes, Peyton Manning, Len Dawson, Ken Stabler, Dan Fouts, Terrell Davis, Jamaal Charles, Priest Holmes, Floyd Little, Charlie Joiner, Fred Biletnikoff, Cliff Branch, Rod Smith, Antonio Gates, Kellen Winslow, Travis Kelce, Dave Casper, Art Shell, Ron Mix, Brian Waters and Tom Nalen.

AFC West All-Time Head Coach, Defense, Kicker & Punter

  • Head Coach – Hank Stram – Chiefs
  • Edge – Derrick Thomas – Chiefs
  • DT – Buck Buchanan – Chiefs
  • DT – Curley Culp – Chiefs
  • Edge – Von Miller – Broncos
  • LB – Bobby Bell – Chiefs
  • LB – Willie Lanier – Chiefs
  • LB – Junior Seau – Chargers
  • CB – Charles Woodson – Raiders
  • CB – Champ Bailey – Broncos
  • CB – Willie Brown – Raiders
  • S – Steve Atwater – Broncos
  • S – Johnny Robinson – Chiefs
  • K – Nick Lowery – Chiefs
  • P – Ray Guy – Raiders

Honorable Mentions: John Madden, Andy Reid, Mike Shanahan, Marty Schottenheimer, Howie Long, Tombstone Jackson, Earl Faison, Neil Smith, Fred Dean, Simon Fletcher, Trevor Pryce, Ted Hendricks, Randy Gradishar, Mike Haynes, Lester Hayes, Louis Wright, Emmitt Thomas, Albert Lewis, George Atkinson, Jack Tatum, Kevin Ross, Rodney Harrison, Deron Cherry, Jan Stenarud, George Blanda, Jason Elam and Tom Rouen.

Avatar of Noah Gronniger

By Noah Gronniger

Noah, a sports fan since 1992, began his journey into sports media in 2012. He is co-founder of the Great American Sports Network as well as a podcast host, filmmaker and freelance writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *